NASA New Year live stream: Watch NASA New Horizons reach FARTHEST object in solar system

Share it:

The countdown is on for NASA’s New Horizons spacecraft to rendezvous with the Kuiper Belt object dubbed 2014 MU69. In just five days’ time, New Horizons will be the first man-made probe to reach the object, also known as Ultima Thule, for a close flyby. New Horizons, which also happens to be the first space probe to explore Pluto up close, will explore Ultima Thule at least three times closer on January 1, 2019. By the time the probe reaches Ultima Thule, it will have covered more than four billion miles (6.5 billion km).

 NASA New Year live stream: NASA New Horizons





The historic flyby will be broadcast live online for the world to watch in awe. Read on below to find out how you can enjoy the live stream yourself.

How to watch NASA’s New Horizons live stream

Live coverage of the New Horizons flyby kicks off on Friday, December 28 and carries on through to the New Year.

The live stream will be available online via NASA TV, NASA.gov and NASA’s round-the-clock YouTube broadcasting.

Starting on Friday at 6pm GMT (1pm EST) NASA will air a preview of the spacecraft and science operations behind the mission.

On New Year’s Eve (Monday, December 31) NASA will host a press briefing between 7pm and 8pm GMT (2pm EST to 3pm EST).

The press briefing will be followed by a Q&A with the New Horizons Team and a panel discussion at 1am GMT (8pm EST).

“New Horizons will approach Ultima Thule three times closer than it came to Pluto.” NASA





The actual flyby of Ultima Thule will stream live on the afternoon of the first day of the New Year.

On January 1 at 5.15am GMT (12.15am EST) coverage will begin with a live countdown and real-time flyby simulations.

A press briefing will follow live online on Wednesday, January 2 between 7pm and 8pm GMT (2pm and 3pm EST).

A second press conference will follow on Thursday, Wednesday 3, in the same time window.

NASA said: “New Horizons will approach Ultima Thule three times closer than it came to Pluto, resulting in even more detailed pictures and other kinds of data.

“The spacecraft will obtain the first high-resolution geological and compositional maps of a small Kuiper Belt object (KBO), while conducting sensitive searches for atmospheric activity, satellites and rings.”

On the day of the flyby, veteran Queen Guitarist and astrophysicist will debut his very first solo single since 1998.

 NASA New Horizons spacecraft

NASA New Horizons: The spacecraft previously explored Pluto up close (Image: NASA/JOHN HOPKINS)

 NASA New Horizons: NASA twitter

NASA New Horizons: Follow the live coverage of New Horizons with NASA online (Image: NASA TWITTER)

The single, dubbed New Horizons, will serve as a theme for NASA’s mission.

The guitarist said: “I was inspired by the idea that this is the furthest that the hand of man has ever reached – it will be by far the most distant object we have ever seen at close quarters, through the images which the spacecraft will beam back to Earth.”

The single will debut NASA's New Horizons Control Center in Maryland, US.

Mr May previously collaborated with NASA on the New Horizons mission as a science contributor.

Share it:

New Horizon Spacecraft

Post A Comment:

0 comments: